Merry Christmas & Happy Holidays!

December 16, 2016

houseLet’s get one thing straight… I am by no means “ready” for Christmas.  I feel like it was Thanksgiving yesterday and now suddenly there are 8 – EIGHT! – shopping days til Christmas. WTF?!  Anyway, I’m wrapping garland, lighting trees, hanging wreaths and decking the frapping halls as fast as I can. Thank heaven I have a giant attic filled with years of Christmas hoarding, if there were a trap door I’d just shove it all through, but there isn’t so I’m getting my exercise which is good cause it’s Mac Cheese Season.  So this year we went for Laurel Leaf Garland, it’s a nice change from all the pine you see this time of year.  No snow yet, and I’m still debating lights on the garland.. yes? or No?

wreathThe Front Door area is also still unresolved, Love my wreath, but the bittersweet and the big berries in the wreath are not jiving for me, there’s a disconnect with these elements.  I’m thinking fill planters with bright green moss and swap redder berries in the trees.  smalltreeThis is what were calling the little tree (it’s 4 or 5 feet) I like to have a home-spun tree in the Library, near the fireplace that holds the ornaments we have collected and have been given over the years, you know the sentimental stuff.  My Mom is coming out in just a few days to spend Christmas with us so I’m hold off on decorating this tree until she gets here.  I also have a stash of photo albums under the ottoman to reminisce over while we trim the tree.

graveI’m including this image because the holidays are a time when we most miss those who are no longer with us.  It’s a time of deep reflection and can be difficult for some.  We lost someone dear to us this year, so we make sure to honor their passing and to tell stories and remember them to keep their memory alive.  The season is truly about love, compassion and giving so we think of those we have lost and hold close those still near us and take care of those who need more, or suffer this time of year.

candlesI love a scented candle.  Seriously I do… these are my top three right now. Icy Blue Pine by Votivo and Vermont Wood and Wassail by Farm House Pottery… both available locally at Surroundings.  All have the freshness of the season without being to powerful, I love these candles, seriously. napkinsSpeaking of Surroundings, a great stocking stuffer or hostess gift is a cocktail or hand towel and we carry Caspari because  they have so many great styles.  This is a holiday appropriate gift that has a purpose and fills a need & it also gets used and goes away so you’re not giving clutter or a nic-nack that the receiver might not want to have to keep around.  Hey, so is a scented candle… see how I did that.  Anyways, don’t be surprised (if I know you) if you get a package of pretty napkins in your stocking.

santaLast but not least, there’s SANTA.  My vintage Santa collection is growing but I have become more particular in recent years because I don’t want duplicates.  I find a lot of the rubber faced Santas of the 50’s and 60’s.  My heat melts for paper faced Santas with cottony beards and the wooden Santas of Scandinavia are also favorites. No matter what makes you happy this time of year, no matter how or what you celebrate, I hope you have a magical holiday season surrounded by Family, or friends or both.  xoxo

 

 

3 Responses to “Merry Christmas & Happy Holidays!”

  1. jodyseivert Says:

    This is such a lovely post, Bill…beautiful variety and what is important to you at Christmas. Blessings to you and John. oxo

  2. ginger cappuccio Says:

    That’s my man…Perfect decorations! Happy Holidays to you both!

    • bill barr Says:

      I swear if I’m ever in the South West, I’m coming to find you ❤️ Thank you for always being such a supportive friend. You were chic before I knew what chic was…


Leave a Reply

