Happy Easter!

March 27, 2016

imageEaster for me is a time for Bunnies, Chicks, Eggs, Easter Baskets and of course Egg Decorating…  However you choose to spend the day, I hope you and your loved ones are together, sharing food, prayer, or your Easter Baskets.  I chose to spend the morning peeping some eggs and this year I thought why not try the natural approach to coloring.  I decided to try  coffee, turmeric, chili powder, and spinach (because I really wanted green).

The  colors  are subtle, some more successful than others, and some didn’t really work at all.  The big surprise  is that I like the coffee the best!  Turmeric worked well too, but  chili powder and spinach were a bust… so I broke out the food coloring.  I was carful to not over dye the eggs, because I wanted a soft natural palette this year.   I’m not sure  where this technique of wrapping the egg with mesh or a piece of nylon stocking came from (or I’d give credit) but I think it’s a great way to add visual interest, while keeping it natural.  imageimageimageimageHere are the results.  I’m pleased with how they turned out, there were one or two I’m not showing you but for the most part the method is easy, and produces good results.      I love the flower , I used hellebore because it’s really the only thing blooming in my yard right now.  I foraged some bamboo leaves, some evergreens and a small fernlike plant that I’m pretty sure is a weed… but a pretty leaved weed.  Hey, on March 26th in the garden you can afford to be too picky.  Note: choose soft non-woody plant materials and avoid thin spindly plants, they don’t work well.    I added vinegar to both the traditional dyes and my “spice dyes” , i have to be honest I don’t really know what is does, but we did it when I was a kid, and you add it to PAAS so I added it.  Good luck if you’re dying eggs today.image

5 Responses to “Happy Easter!”

  1. Katy Says:

    love the eggs!

    about your last post on white kitchens: I am in the process of redesigning an entire house and of course, I want cabinetry with inset doors everywhere. The issue is finding a source. At least where I live, the only thing that is offered is the standard overlay doors, and if you ask for inset doors they go “oh em gee you’ll have to go custom for that!” then good luck finding someone who can build all of that. the only drawback of living in a rural area, maybe?

    bummer. but anyway love the photos.

    • bill barr Says:

      Thanks Katy! Inset doors do come at a premium, because they are harder to produce, but boy are they pretty. Do you have access to vendors like Starmark and Plain and Fancy? both semi-custom lines that you might be able to use.

      • Katy Says:

        oh thank you for pointing me in that direction – i googled and the closest dealer for either of those lines is 60 mi from me, so that is doable. (there’s a Starmark in Augusta GA, woo hoo)

        I hope you get the marble slab of your dreams, ha. 🙂

  2. Claudia Says:

    I saw a post where they used red cabbage for blue-violet and onion skins for yellow. How about beets?


Leave a Reply

