Nicely Nautical

February 7, 2015

a979d5589724688aaf827564c45fd964

 We have a LOT of snow Back East with more coming soon so I can only dream of khaki shorts and fill-flops, serving my friends gin and tonics and decorating with the heat of summer and refreshing ocean breezes in mind. But it’s that dream that keeps me from becoming too terribly depressed when I’m so cold I dread getting out of the shower.  I think what’s really going on is this is the first year in many my Husband and I have not taken a warm weather vacation mid-winter to escape the grey doldrums, if only for a week or ten days.  So I propose we take a break from shoveling, take of our hats and scarves and if only for a few minutes pretend were somewhere warm, with tanned skin, the scent of salt in the air…

0c95fc5a22716e6e300108bd51c2c1a8

I guess it’s all that is conjured up in the mind when one thinks of summertime that makes decorating toward a nautical theme so attractive.  It reminds us of vacations, and summer houses, lazy days reading under a shade tree, BBQ’s and friends staying late around the dinner table you set up in the yard… perhaps that is what is it that makes a nautical theme so pleasant. It’s like your on vacation when ever you are in your nautical room.  Or, maybe it’s really a beach house.103e0fc003660f581cbfee462ae3ed34

637d57e20fddd9272f1318498c3ec25b

24ea3a1342a45efe872dd61334069c0a

UnknownScreen Shot 2012-07-25 at 6.38.52 AM

2 Responses to “Nicely Nautical”

  1. GeGe Says:

    Love this…reminded me of the late summer nights spent with family & friends around the firepit…and those wonderful summer vacations in Sandwich. Great memories…xoxo


Leave a Reply

