(Almost) White not BEIGE – Going Grey

January 24, 2014

Screen shot 2013-10-24 at 10.22.36 AM As many of you know I am the self professed King of Beige.  I am always comfortable with warm neutrals, morning, noon and night; Spring, Summer, Winter or Fall; living room, family room, bedroom, hall.  Greys and taupes are gaining momentum and popularity but I am still drawn to beige first.  When I think of deviating I’m motivated to go light.  Lightening my “go to” colors in lieu of embracing the cooler neutral palette feels fresher and less trendy frankly.  Don’t get me wrong, I love designing with the greys they just aren’t for me, not completely anyway.  Look at how well grey plays with cream on the sofa above, now that I like.  The light color adds life to the grey… I might be on to something.

rsz_ferebee-taube-nyc-apartment-07

Here is a small collection of greys and taupes mixed with white.  I will admit to liking the combination.  I’d also like to mention that gold frames, brass fixtures and other dashes of warmth would really go a long way to add a counter point to all of these rooms, as the first picture shows.  LESON: Go grey, but add creams or whites and warm up your metals. Now go paint something grey.

tumblr_mu9jqgSjgu1qb83abo1_1280-1

 Screen Shot 2013-05-07 at 1.23.17 PM

0ff467391d4ce7c377f9c9235e5d4acd 6de34996d865531d9b3effaac9b27aa6

tumblr_mj65rkPr7Z1qatvvoo1_500

Leave a Reply

