Second-Home Dreaming…

October 6, 2013

tumblr_mtmt9n2mt31ru2qa4o1_1280 

If I am ever lucky enough to have a second home near the ocean, I promise myself to not overdecorate it.
Screen Shot 2013-05-07 at 1.25.18 PM
 I swear I will do my best to keep the furnishings simple and clean, understated and comfortable.  I’ll keep the finishes low sheen and matte, the fabrics soft, light and easy. I won’t insist on trendy patterns, I won’t use strong trendy colors and I won’t make so perfect that it’s not easy to relax in.

pure-and-simple-living-area-0213-xln

I vow to keep interesting books on hand for guests and renters, and firewood near the fireplace to cut the chill on cold nights. I will honor the bones of the structure, and celebrate the quirky oddities.  I won’t remodel with the latest and greatest, I won’t insist on marble countertops and stainless steel appliances.    pure-and-simple-guest-bedroom-0213-xln

7190d0f3717549338442a4e207f1d25aI gladly bear the burden of a single basin in the only bathroom, 
Screen Shot 2013-05-07 at 1.22.46 PM

and…I’ll paint everything white (Simply White – Ben Moore).

3 Responses to “Second-Home Dreaming…”

  1. Janice Says:

    love this post.
    who painted the beautiful shore scene?
    xxoo

  2. tynanacorn1 Says:

    Sent from AOL Mobile Mail


Leave a Reply

