Is Black the new Black?

October 5, 2013

tumblr_mgy92auV891r6mdwlo1_500My family owns a small cabin on the north shore of Lake Tahoe, and it has stood largely unchanged for the past 70  years.  I love the cabin just as it is and I’m thankful that the knotty pine interior is intact, the original stove and refrigerator are still there and in use and that it has never been stripped of its charm, raised or even added on to. But, I do think that it would be a very cool up date to the little house’s exterior by painting it black.

200973202092523347_XrWUWaoE_c

I don’t tend to use a lot of black in my design work, accents mostly but It always seems to be “current” it all depends on how you use it.  These days a black room is not unheard of.  As you all know I covet a black bathroom…  I will have a black bathroom.  Dark colored walls are very current and black has not been left out.  The bedroom above however relies on black to be an accent, and it works.  Black acts like good punctuation, for any room, any color palette.

mark-sikes
  tumblr_mmbtmeRQ3S1r5fwoio1_500

tumblr_mkwge78kjD1r19bzso1_500 I love black mixed with these camel and wood tones.  A hardwood floor would work as the foil to the black walls but if you happen to have something other than hardwood, mix in some lighter neutrals.  I like the mix of browns, tans and other neutral tones to keep the space  warm.

tumblr_ltoubkovOE1qjrfh6o1_500

 I could even find my way to a black kitchen if there were plenty of white walls around it (like the one below).  Black is sexy, mysterious and strong.  It works in urban settings, but I’d love to see it used to play against the natural (like a cabin in Tahoe) such an interesting ying yang.  Where would you use black?  
ELLE Decoration 0312 Kjøkken topp 10

 

2 Responses to “Is Black the new Black?”

  1. Kaplan Says:

    Thanks for sharing Mr. Barr. You’ve inspired us to move on our renovation with black and white!


Leave a Reply

