Rough & Tumble

September 15, 2013

I am loving this abandoned stable turned family dwelling in Cáceres, Spain designed by architecture firm ÁBATON. There is something very modern, mixed with the rustic stone and the traditional twist of the clay tile roof that sounds like a hot mess but looks like a dream come true.  I would love to design the interiors for a structure like this one for a client (or myself).  You know me, it’s all about the juxtaposition of light and dark, modern and rustic or hard and soft.  I love the idea of linen slip-covered sofas, floor pillows and a flokati rug in the living room of this house.  I would do my decorators best to keep the accessories to a minimum – I am a self-confessed packrat – and the colors should be those found in the stone that makes up the pool, walls and architecture.

tumblr_mlomqcVV9F1qzwmsso3_500

I don’t really have a reason for wanting to show beds with this structure, but I do think these bedroom shots exemplify the vibe of the house.  Relaxed, tonal, clean.  Who wouldn’t want to tumble into one of these beds…

tumblr_mgfcw4L9U21qcos5so1_500 tumblr_mls0tjzqou1r5vp1oo1_500 tumblr_mm11dsTStl1rt8x28o1_500

If it was up to me I’d make the pattern, texture and visual interest the beauty of natural stone.  This would make an amazing shower surround for a bathroom.  Maybe open to the sky and a teak floor slatted to allow the water to be caught in a cistern and recycled into the landscape.  Add in some big gnarly olive trees and you have one rough yet beautiful modern mediterranean compound.  I’m ready, are you?

tumblr_mkyewmBEdg1r4ddeuo1_500

5 Responses to “Rough & Tumble”


  1. Hi Bill,
    The house looks gorgeous! I like the design and the blending of colors. It looks sophisticated, modern, simple yet stylish.


Leave a Reply

