Q: My Latest Obsession?

August 21, 2013

A: Creating a black bathroom.

mark-sikesOur house is circa 1907 and it has lovely details like leaded glass, quarter sawn oak floors, built-ins and plenty of room for the two of us and our dogs (and guests) BUT it doesn’t have 2 full baths.  Who builds a 5 bedroom house and only puts in one full bathroom? Victorians I guess… it’s not working for me.  The good news is that I get to be my own client and I want black.  I think it’s very sexy and masculine like the above bathroom designed by Mark Sikes.  I love his use of mirror to “lighten” visually where there isn’t paint but I know I want a stronger floor like this one I found on Pinterest.

photo copy 8Here are a few more black bathrooms I plan on using for inspiration.  If you think black seems risky, my advice to you is it’s only paint.  Why not take a risk on something that can be changed for under $100 and in a day (or three, black might take several coats to cover) and yet make such an impact?

5b5e1b00b205689d92685957ae4aa866 27e2887f1aca984d6a75408fcbd28170 7c03d0610746944b58cd29aacd979498   c07c23b57eea565b24cea3e2ba690ce6

Just for the record: It does bother me that I could’t get the last image to line up with the one above it.

4 Responses to “Q: My Latest Obsession?”

  1. Eclectic Medicine Design House Says:

    Love this look, a beautiful contrast from the all white bathrooms we often see. Mysterious – Masculine Chic. Loving smaller hexagonal floor tiles at the moment too.

  2. Claudia Says:

    I clipped a photo years ago (who knows where it is now) of a Japanese-inspired bath: window washings an mullions black, and a lot of warm redwood tones. It was very strong and serene. Food for thought.


Leave a Reply

