My Day Off

May 13, 2013

 

commute

I am especially lucky to have Mondays off from my typical work day.  The Interior Design business; paperwork, installations and the balance of client/office time morphs into something completely different, something more personally creative, almost introspective on a day off.  And eventhough I snuck in a tiny bit of client time most of the day was spent alone, arranging shelves, gardening, induldging and maybe a tiny bit of napping!  So, as I start to unwind tonight I thought I’d send out what a typical day off looks like for me.

KLR It started with a commute (about 15 minutes) to a Clients for a quick rug install.  We flipped a few rugs around the house to freshen up other rooms while updating the living room “off the kitchen” (vs the living room” off of the front foyer”, through the “tween” room and bar.  Shes a great lady and I have fun with her, we debate and collaborate to find common ground between us and when we find it, we buy what ever it is we are in agreement on.  The Ascot rug from Asmara Rugs in Waltham, MA is a beautiful addition to the relaxed space that’s affords comfortable reading spots, coffee cozy spots and a snuggle up spot.  We agreed on this rug after she had the chance to have it brought into the home.  This Asmara Rug was definitely love at first sight.

torte

Not going to lie… I had cake for lunch, torte actually.  It was Mother’s Day leftovers, it was calling my name, I had to taste it.  I made a semi-sweet torte with pecan and cookie crust for Mothers Day and I was so happy that there was actually a bit of it left over for today.  It is SO rich that one 9 ich spring-form pan ( and 2 lbs. of chocolate) produces enough torte to serve 20 people.  I served it with homemade (of course) carmel sauce.  Here is the link I used…simplyrecipes.com

 roses

If I had known I was going to post this topic today when I was planting rose cuttings in the hopes of propagating them.  A client gave me these after I had complimented her healthy rose-bush, so vital in the ocean air, and pretty too.  A small pink rose covers the canopy, Cecile Brunner? heirloomroses.com If I don’t kill them I will plant them to climb the columns on the front porch.

mewithcakeAnd one of me proudly presenting my torte to the family.

Leave a Reply

