TULUM a loveletter

April 12, 2013

photo[1] (6)

As most of you know, I grew up in the Bay Area, San Francisco-ish.  Living in such close proximity to Mexico I have had the pleasure of visiting many times and,  just for context – this is not a brag – I have seen the beaches of Hawaii, Thailand, Spain, Italy and the Caribbean and I’m here to tell you that Tulum beach on Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula is one of THE prettiest beaches I have ever seen.  No lie.photo[1] (4)

Of course anywhere you go where your responsibilities don’t follow you is a happy place, a total checkout… But to add to that a warm sunny place with beautiful breezes and a relaxed and kick-back atmosphere surrounded by beauty like this?  Well, I’m sold and frankly ready to buy!  Did I mention the food? Giant fruit salads, yummy coffee (yes all the cafes had soy) and a yoga class within a stones throw starting practically every ten minutes.  The real test for me was the lack of pool.  I’m a pool guy.  In fact I love pools, laying by them, getting a drink brought to me while I’m near one and yes eating at the pool (the height of decadence) is something I love.  Well, there was no pool.  And I’m still in love with Tulum.

photo[1] (5)You will find almost every type of resort in Tulum.  All inclusive, Yoga and wellness focus, fancy & not-so-fancy, but the thing they all have in common is a underbuilt (3 story max from what I could see) and place sensitive architecture that allows the natural surroundings to stand out and remind you that your somewhere between a jungle and the ocean, with a sky filled with stars (and avocado on every entre!).  My architecture of choice would be something along the lines of the beach structure shown above.

photo[2] (3)

2 Responses to “TULUM a loveletter”

  1. Elizabeth Says:

    Wait – I love Tulum, it’s one of my (not as) secret (as I’d like) favorite places….but I have had mixed experiences in terms of hotels…so which place did you adore? With your taste, I will book at your recommendation!

  2. bill barr Says:

    Papaya Playa Project has been getting a lot of prsee, but I’ve never stayed there. Coqui Coqui is by far the nicest and most chic in Tulum. I’d stay at Maya Tulum, Ahau Tulum in a minute. Cabanas is well regarded too.

    If you can foot the bill, Coqui Coqui is hands down the winner.


Leave a Reply

