TARGET’s Look-A-Likes

March 18, 2013

I slipped in to our local Target store yesterday to buy some Champion brand gym clothes that they have on sale.  I needed more high performance clothing now that I’m performing at a higher level ; )  My trainer and gym membership have been working – even with an occasional, ok frequent, cheat.  Since I was already there, of course I had to see what they were pedaling in the house-wear and garden centers.  Now you might not be quite as shocked as I was to see these cute little side tables but let me tell you after having sold this table to a client I WAS SHOCKED to see a look-a-like in Target of all places.

fakeoomphThis little table is a design from OOMPH, and is clearly a knockoff.  I’m a bit torn about this.  On one hand I love that the masses get this great design for a fraction of the better made side table from Oomph… good design for all!  But, It makes me sad that with all the resources Target has, they couldn’t have designed their own cool table and not taken design ($) from a small company like Oomph.  The bottom line is it’s good for you.  This table is 39.99 and available at Target.  It is a chic little table that would look great next to a slip-covered swivel chair, and the end of a sexy settee or even alongside your bathtub holding am iPad and glass of wine. fakeadlerJonathan Adler has become a household name in recent years.  We went from obscure pottery artist to world-class decorator and retail giant but marketing a look we really haven’t embraced since the days of Merimeko, Vera and other 60’s Modish designs.  And, do you know how you can tell when someone has made it really big?  They get knocked off by a big box chain like Target ( and in this case Nate Burkus ).  Yeah, Yeah tortoise shells have been used in interior design for decades but this white version I’d something Adler has really made iconic.  Bad for Adler… diluting the market and creating a trend so strong it’s bound to be over-played, but great for you because it’s only $19.99 at Target.  fakeglobalNow I may be wrong here but I’m 99% sure this is an Arteriors original design.  And yep, you guessed it… now available at your local Target.   It’s nearly $800.00 from online retailer Zincdoor.com  was it really only $24.99 at Target?  Wow, crazy cheap.  This table is not as well made and they changed the proportion of it a bit from the original – taller and a bit more delicate looking – but come on it is so a copy.
fakejamieJamie Young is my “go-to” lighting resource.  They have up to the minute, white-hot lighting at prices that are fair for the well made and well designed quality products they produce.  This white floor lamp from Target is so a Jamie Young KNOCK-OFF.  Bad for Jamie Young… Great for you.  I don’t think it’s nearly as pretty as one of Jamie’s – the high gloss looks cheap and this lamp isn’t made nearly as well – but for the cheap price $69.00? I might be able to live with it.  click here to see the Jamie young version.


3 Responses to “TARGET’s Look-A-Likes”

  1. Mark Miller Says:

    Shame on you Mr. Barr! “Good for you” Really? When is STEALING good for anyone except the thief (in this case either Target or the company that made it for Target). I have no problem with GOOD design for the masses….but not stealing good design from some hard working and creative people and then pawning it off on the masses and making a profit off someone elses creativity, effort and business.

    It is one thing to be inspired by a design….it is another to just copy.

    I think you owe honest designers and manufacturers an appology!

    • bill barr Says:

      I believe I made it clear in my post that I do not condone the stealing of one persons or companies hard work, design, creativity and the like. I have chosen to post Mr. Millers comments and respond to clarify that I believe this practice to be unethical, unfair and wrong, much the same way many feel about fur for the sake of fashion.

      Via Mobile

  2. Janice Says:

    Loved this post and design lesson, all in one.


Leave a Reply

