Los Angeles & Vintage Style

January 24, 2013

12606_473632552693469_2011524476_n

I’m a sucker for anything vintage. 20’s 30’s 40’s (50’s meh) 60’s and 70’s all have elements of design and style that I appreciate and draw from daily in my work and my personal style.  I’m 46, I’m not old but I’ll tell you… you start feeling old when you look back more than you look forward and by that I mean Style-Wise, inspirationally and in regard to what you are drawn to.  Don’t get me wrong, I like modern as most of my readers would already know, but I find comfort in Deco, Mid-Century, Nouveau, Bauhaus, and all the revivals from the turn of the century through the 40’s and 50’s.  599866_412500512140007_2047831095_n

I love Los Angeles for many reasons including the Weather, the Shopping, the Flora and the Architectural richness.  But i know the real reason is that it grew substantially during a style or period that most fascinates me.  I love Spanish-Colonial, I love Deco, I love Moderne and the Hollywood Regency style so much you might not believe it.  I love it almost as much as you love a person, as much as you love a treasured heirloom, and more than you love a car, boat, plane and perhaps your cleaning lady.  Are you feeling me? I’m crazy like that.  I could drive around every single day in LA and other places with a similar heritage and just look and houses, hotels, civic buildings and parks.  I would take more pictures than I could possibly ever need and get up and do it all again the very next day.

207699_469645813092143_235020952_n

I have wondered more than a thousand times if I shouldn’t have been an architect.  Creative in school, math was far from a strong point.  In fact I was lucky to get my diploma, and I ran faster than a bus full of retired people run at a buffet the minute I finished High School.  But this really isn’t about me, sorry I digress.  Getting back to LA… Railroads arrived in Los Angeles with the completion of the Southern Pacific line to Los Angeles in 1876. Oil was discovered in 1892, and by 1923, the discoveries had helped California become the country’s largest oil producer, accounting for about one-quarter of the world’s petroleum output.

By 1900, the population had grown to more than 102,000, putting pressure on the city’s water supply. The completion of the Los Angeles Aqueduct in 1913, under the supervision of William Mulholland, assured the continued growth of the city.

In 1910, not only had the city of Los Angeles annexed Hollywood, but there were already at least 10 movie companies operating in the city. By 1921, more than 80 percent of the world’s film industry was concentrated in L.A. The money generated by the industry kept the city insulated from much of the economic pain suffered by the rest of the country during the Great Depression. By 1930, the population surpassed one million. Hence the massive amount of housing and civic buildings not to mention industry growth through those years.

In 1932, the city hosted the Summer Olympics.   The Los Angeles Coliseum hosted the Olympic Games in 1932 and 1984.  Following the end of World War II, Los Angeles grew more rapidly than ever, sprawling into the San Fernando Valley.  In 1969, Los Angeles became one of the birthplaces of the Internet, as the first ARPANET transmission was sent from the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) to SRI in Menlo Park.

13605_469649216425136_513410394_n

 

 

Leave a Reply

