Wet Dreams

January 21, 2013

9
I don’t have a pool.  When I go on vacation I always look for the house, hotel, resort, friend that has a pool because… well I love them and we have established I don’t have one.  I like being in and around all the action of a pool, people are a bit more conscious of their “look” at a pool, there is typically a server near by offering drinks, snacks or even a spritz.  You don’t have to go far to dip in and cool off and there is no pesky sand to find its way into your lobster club sandwich.  Pools are usually the “right” temperature.  Oceans, lakes, ponds (eewww ponds), lagoons and streams and rivers can all be unpredictable, pools can be too, but your odds of “the right temperature” are better when entering a controlled body of water.

tumblr_mdwcaqECke1qbvmzbo1_500

I love the ocean, long walks along it… picking up rocks and shells is something I could do for hours… I even like going into a warm softly rolling sea that’s temperature tolerable and I’m a huge fan of snorkeling…  Hawaii, St John, Phuket all great places to get in the water and snorkel the day away.  But there is something about sitting by a beautiful pool, with fresh absorbent towels on hand, a mock-tail and every amenity near by and…well… I’m happy.  tumblr_mdw0r4dXzg1qbvmzbo1_500

As far as pools go, I’m more a formal, urn at the ends type than I am a free form type and to be honest, I could take or leave the infinity edge.  It’s pretty but my favorite style is reflecting pool style. Long rectangular in shape, surrounded by a border of bluestone or other hard surface and that surrounded by lush green lawn and perfectly groomed gardens, heaven.

Picture 2 and 3 are courtesy of… Doug Friedman, Photographer.  WWW.THEFACINATOR.COM to see all his images & catch him on Instagram too for a daily injection of his photographic wit AND to live vicariously through him as he travels the globe living a life of adventure and luxury… Pretty places, pretty people, and he’s pretty too.

Leave a Reply

