COLOR

December 12, 2012


Skjermbilde 2012-12-04 kl. 21.12.38 Yes, in fact I do like color.  Just because I prefer a white kitchen and a beige living room doesn’t mean I can’t embrace a little (or a lot) of color in my own home and in clients homes.  I actually do more colorful interiors than I do somber, neutral palettes.  My “bread and butter” are second homes near the coast so I do a fair share of Coastal sophisticated, Cottage and  Summer Home type looks.  Often folks want strong fun happy colors, a departure from their regular homes, colors that can stand up to the summer sun.  The influence I have is that the right amount of color is used, and it the right combinations.205336064229903138_ZPjFWP6b_fI suggest using color in places like stair wells because its a place that you pass through vs spend time in.  Another favorite place for strong color is the back of bookcases.  Your collectibles, trinkets, mic-nacks and yes… even your books will look more important and POP against a strong color background.  Window treatments and rugs are other good spots for strong color, rugs because they are on a horizontal plane and there for not as obvious as say the walls or sofa.  Window treatments because they are typically up/open so it’s a small amount actually showing and because it’s a fairly easy change out when/if you grow tired of them.
65583738293066697_o8tpbG9E_c 149392912610143219_MtKUKwKx_cSerious crush on these bunk beds!  I love the soft colors on the horizontal boards… this room says a cool kid lives here.  In fact I want an adult sized version of this set up in my guest house, when I get one… make that when I get one on the beach at my second home.  Until then, the colored boards could become an accent wall, or a backsplash, or a cute second bath.
141863456983728761_fmtkViFf_c

Color can be subtle, soft and tonal too.  Look at this pretty bottle display, popping with spring blossoms forced indoors for a happy moment of color.  The color of these bottles is a color that always makes me happy… Almost teal, more green than blue, hints of turquoise.  This special color is a cool color that feels good in a home often surrounded by the heat of summer.  If you want to use it for your year-round mix it with gold flourishes to warm it up and create a more glam look.

229965124692321157_DhOv3gNZ_c 163888873909981793_CM2OasBO_c Groovy right?  Funny to me that this palette can go from the “hippy” striped accents in this bedroom to high fashion color blocked outfits and shoes found on the runway, but it does and it works high-brow and low-brow.  My opinion is that strong color works best when surrounded by neutral (white).  The lesson: Strong color should be served up like a condiment.  It’s the ketchup, mayo and/or relish… it’s not the hot dog, bun or plate.  Use thoughtfully and sparingly.154811305911505829_wZcr0HeH_c 68539225548547596_ogo3PGoA_c

472948398337601762_iy5qF4Jv_c

Leave a Reply

