Beach House Love

June 29, 2012

Had a great meeting with a young and fun client who is making an old family home into a summer-house for her family.  We picked neutrals as a foundation for the major living spaces, white washed wood trim, grasscloth dining room walls, painted floors! and maybe a big sisal rug.  I love the living room above and especially the painted backs of the bookcases.  We are going to use this idea in the built-in hutch in the dining room or the bookcases in the living room, and add a few “splashy” pillows to shake things up a bit.

Aside from the tragic air conditioning unit, the only other things I’d change about this room is the rug.  I would love a more current feeling chevron flat weave wool, or Ikat patterned rug or even a seagrass area rug would be more to my taste.  the other thing I’d change is I’d put me in it.  Wouldn’t you just love to wake up in there every morning?

I just really liked this shot.  I’ve never used to chaise lounges together like this, but I love the way it looks.  One question: Do you think they turned these chaises around to make a pretty picture with the view behind the furniture?  I do.  Who would turn their back on that view?!?!  (oops that’s a second question)

DREAM HOUSE! there is, my perfect house.  White, rustic, quirky… perfect.  I dream of the day when I’ll have a small place close to the ocean, that’s so relaxed and funky everyone who enters is put at ease.  Antiques mixed with found furniture, good silver used as everyday flatware and one of a kind mouth blown drinking glasses mixed with CB2’s ultra thin glassware.  Maybe I’ll call my house High-Low.

All around yummy…  maybe a tiny bit “propped” but still so charming.  Best part: LOVE the paintings, vintage for sure they add a layer of soul and time gone by and I love that.  I also love the beamed ceiling.

12 Responses to “Beach House Love”

  1. jodyseivert Says:

    I just love your blogs, Bill. And I can so see you in a small, seaside adorable spot!


  2. I love the photos! I love the paintings as well in the last couple of photos. I love texture and this type of ‘cabin’ has it.
    One word about the A/C in the winter you won’t need it if you go to Florida or South California. But in the summer with those rooms with what seems to be no insulation, you would NEED A/C! That sun gets incredibly hot and you need a place to escape it in the middle of the day.

    I have been coming to read your posts and have a feed now for email. I have been enjoying your comments and what you post for lifestyle and your take on your ideas. And some to Pinterest.

  3. richard Says:

    love love love!

  4. claudia Says:

    Funny, I didn’t even see the air conditioner until you pointed it out (but that’s why you are who you are!) and maybe the chaises were staged to be pretty, but it’s easier to read with the light coming in over your shoulder (which shows you who I am!). Charming, all of it.

  5. Uncle Beefy Says:

    I’d gladly suffer a weekend in the restful looking spot. And, propped isn’t such a bad thing if we’re talking about my feet ‘propped’ up on the sofa listening to the surf! 😉 Happy weekending, Bill!


  6. That was Mary Ruth, but that is OK, many get my name that way. Have a great weekend!


Leave a Reply

