Bunk Beds Seven Ways

June 11, 2012

I guess I’m a kid at heart.  I love the idea of bunk beds.  Wouldn’t mind having them for a guest room, wouldn’t mind sleeping in one for a weekend away, and visually I really like the way they look… Cozy.  The one featured above is from Oeuf – out of Brooklyn and Germany – and is part of their perch collection.  Isn’t it cool and modern without being to tricky?  Sort of Michael Graves like, or Philippe Stark esque and I mean those comparisons to both be a compliment.

I’m guessing this house was designed to have these beds built-in from the get-go.  How else would they have been so lucky to have the windows so perfectly placed.  This set-up is very sophisticated, and although it has whimsy and the stylist had to put in the stuffed animal, I would be proud to present this room as my guest room in my summer-house.  The color palette is grown up, the curtains add privacy and… and… AND I’m a little jealous.  There, I said it.

It’s an equal opportunity blog today! This one is for all the modern purists.  How cool is this set up?  Granted, low man is basically on the floor, to get three guest beds in this small amount of space feels a bit Japanese by way of the space being so well used.  I don’t know where this photo was taken, but I’d like to visit.

No shortage on style with these beds they are the Armani or Christian Liaigre of bunk beds… Sleek, dark, minimal.  Again with the perfectly placed windows, Love it.

two girls one bedroom? No problem… Build them bunk beds.  Lavender is HOT this spring and summer, jump on the band wagon before you blink and everyone is painting, decorating and sewing their way to a new trend color.  The mix of the taupey grey with the lavender is really, really good.  White would have been too sweet.  This is very well done, the niche they made for bedside storage is a great detail.

The best part of this picture?  They are someone elses children ( just kidding, not really, no really I’m kidding, not really).  The best part of this set-up is the built-in stairs.  Interesting that we don’t get to see the full wall, I wonder if the wall was just the right size or maybe it was longer than they needed.  In any case, this is a good looking double bunk bed wall if I ever saw one.

You didn’t think I’d write this much about bunk beds and not include one in “my personal style” did you ?  No, I didn’t design this casual summer-house bunk bed situation… But I’d have it in a heart beat in my coastal cottage for friends to crash in when it’s too late ( that’s code for when they are over served) for them to make it home.  Which is your favorite?

4 Responses to “Bunk Beds Seven Ways”

  1. Danny Says:

    Love the ones that are “built in” — makes it looks so seamless in the walls. 🙂

  2. Janice Says:

    great collection. I’d combine some elements of #2 and #6…not the kids, though, I have my own 🙂

  3. claudia Says:

    My favorites are also 2 and 6, but I wouldn’t be as polished as 6 and as a late-night reader like the curtains on 2. BTW, it can be very hard to make a bed in an upper bunk. When C had one, we used a fitted sheet and a cute patterned sleeping bag form Lands End. A big comforter would work for an adult.


Leave a Reply

