Vintage Vixens

January 20, 2012

Models in the Window, picture by Ormond Gigli , New York 1960

Would you believe these were all a facebook grab?!  A friend of a friend… Who knew?  I love the lines and the silhouettes of women’s fashion from the 40’s and 50’s.  Clean and straightforward but dramatic and so full of opulence and luxe.  the glamour of it all just cuts through me for some reason.  I wanted to write more about why this is so fascinating to me but I’m still not sure why… Maybe these women remind me of my mother from when I was young?  Perhaps it’s simply the well designed clothes and well designed shots, stylized and chic… not sure just love it… hope you enjoy.

Fiona Campbell-Walter wearing a duchesse satin ball gown by Cristobal Balenciaga.Photo by Frances McLaughlin-Gill at Château de Versailles for Vogue 1952
Model wearing a Christian Dior evening dress/ Photo by Erwin Blumenfeld, New York, VOGUE US, 1949
Stella Oakes wearing Balenciaga – photo Henry Clarke 1951
Sunny Harnett wearing this classic gray flannell by Harvey Berin, picture by Irving Penn for Vogue 1952


Leave a Reply

