Cabin Fever

December 12, 2011

It’s not snowing here in my part of the world – just off Cape Cod – but it will be soon, I hope.  We’ve had an unseasonably warm fall and I have to admit, I’m ready for a big snow storm.  Along with the storm I’d like to hunker down in a small cabin with a large fireplace and drink hot cocoa all day with my dog and computer in my lap.  The only thing that would make that scenario better is to perhaps have a few good friends around me for chat and laughter.

This image from House Beautiful is exactly what I had in mind.  Warm wood walls, hand-me-down bedding years old soft and a relaxed easy vibe, but I’d be happy to visit a chic modern mountain retreat like this…

or this…

but this would do (Thoreau’s cabin at Walden Pond)

Just bring on the cozy and I’ll be happy.  If you want to create this type of feeling in your house, apartment or cabin the key elements are: Wood, wood and more wood, it’s the easiest way to add depth, warmth and a natural vibe to a space.  Texture, velvets, mohair, faux-fur, cashmere. Color, deep rich colors jewel-tones, earth-tones and pigment rich vibrant shades.

Leave a Reply

