Hong Kong & Bangkok

August 5, 2011

It’s official!  I headed to China & Thailand in a few months for a friends 50th birthday celebration and two weeks of vacation.  Feeling so lucky to have the chance to go to such exotic locations and have a tour guide/translator in a friend who I have known for nearly 2 decades.  I fully expect to eat my way through every city, village and town… ship home yards and yards of fabric… and spend al of my time totally checked out of my “normal” life.

I have to say that the cultural differences and the lifestyle/architecture/designs that go along with it are something I just cant wait to experience.  I fully expect the trip to give me a fresh perspective on design and open creative doors to new ways of doing things.  Trips for me do that, be it a camping trip or a week in Pairs, I always find myself seeing things that I want  to remember to apply to work on my return.  I guess not working and having that void while on vacation allows the new things to seep in, it’s powerful and I can’t wait to get “juiced up”.

These pictures are from the Sukhothai Hotel where we’ll be staying in Bangkok. Described as a sanctuary situated in the buzzing heart of Bangkok steps away from the business and entertainment districts. Only minutes away from all the markets, the river, and all the shopping you’d ever want to do, this top-notch hotel is sure to not disappoint.  And how could it?  Look at the shot of the pool, after a morning of shopping who wouldn’t be happy to lay around this pool, drink in hand?

2 Responses to “Hong Kong & Bangkok”

  1. Janice Says:

    looks fabulous!! have a great time.
    can’t wait to see what you bring back…

  2. Claudia Says:

    Hong Kong (in 1984, mind you!) was like a National Geographic turned 3-D. So much to see! Lucky you.


Leave a Reply

