White Kitchens

June 8, 2011

I don’t know where this kitchen is but it has a european vibe for some reason.  I love the unadorned space, no hardware, no pendants, just the basics and plenty of fresh air.  I’ll bet that small table comes inside in bad weather, there looks to be just enough room between the kitchen sink and the refrigerator.

There is a strong trend towards unfinished unstained floors these days – albeit a slow trend that may never become as popular as white washed, pickled or limed – but I do love the look.  So natural and easy, you have to expect the floors to age more quickly that finished floors but that’s all part of it…  an organic look.

How did we ever get to the point of marble backsplashes? …and pot fillers? …and bedazzled kitchen hardware?  Seriously, I don’t understand why everyone wouldn’t want a version of this kitchen.  How could you possibly ever get tired of cooking in this space?  clean and efficient, that’s paramount when it comes to cooking and baking.  Light bright and uncluttered is the way to go in todays kitchen.

3 Responses to “White Kitchens”

  1. Uncle Beefy Says:

    Bill… I LOVE this kitchen! I’m right there with you on all counts. As much as I love color and the occasional bell and whistle, this room just makes me breathe deep. Calm and clean. Perfect.

    • bill barr Says:

      BEEFY! Thank you so much for reading my blog. You are an inspiration to me, your blog is so beautiful… the script, images and general mood are all so lovely. I’m flattered you stopped by BillBlog… THANK YOU.

      • Uncle Beefy Says:

        Bill… thank YOU for stopping by The Bedlam! And, now, sharing your most generous compliments. I so appreciate it! I’m flattered!

        Love what you’ve got going here and I will be back!

        Take good care! 🙂


Leave a Reply

