I’m Working On It

May 21, 2011

     
These are the items I’m starting with as inspiration for the contemporary house by the beach that I’m working on for some very longstanding clients.  As mentioned in the previous post, we are straddling modern and traditional, and while these objects don’t really read “modern” in the Eames, Knoll, Saarinen, Mies sort of way, my theory is:  Add warm textural details to clean lined simple upholstery and keep the rooms tonal and neutral and the house will have a warm modern aesthetic that suits the modern and nods to the traditional.
The floors ( that we finally ordered) are going to be Carlisle Wide Plank Floors, White Oak Heirloom Quality with a site-finished “Whitewashed Fence” finish… can you already tell that I’m in love?  These floors are BEAUTIFUL!  We will be picking paint colors in the next week, and I can already tell you that the palette will fall in line with the existing finishes ( staying true to the tonal look of the home ) and we will use warm greys, taupes, tans and maybe a milk-chocolatey brown.  I have to imagine the rooms decorated to really zero in on paint colors, like I love the idea of a red chair in a monochromatic warm grey room.
3 Responses to “I’m Working On It”

  1. robert Says:

    Love the sofa.

  2. Susanna Says:

    I love the things you have out togther for your client. I hope the project is going well. I am swooning over the black chair with the peep hole and also am digging the sofa. Is there any chance you could share where I could find these items?

    • bill barr Says:

      The key hole chair is by Barbara Barry for McGuire… love it! http://mcguirefurniture.com Available though designers

      The sofa (OMG) I’m not sure anymore! But i can tell you Lee and Hickory Chair both make similar ones.
      Depending on where you live, both sites offer a “local dealer” search option… Surroundings in Mattapoisett, MA carries both : )


Leave a Reply

