Modern or Traditional?

May 5, 2011

It seems to be the story of my life, the never answered question… Modern or traditional?  I have had both and I currently live in a very traditional home, but i see pictures of modern interiors and they call to me.  I guess a traditional house furnished in an unconventional more modern style is sort of like having the best of both worlds, or is it?

Do we live differently in the so very different aesthetics of modern and traditional?  I think at the end of the day our cereal tastes the same, we love our spouses as much and the laundry needs doing no matter what your abode looks like…  but maybe, just maybe we feel a little bit different in each architectural style.

The fireplace is the one of many gathering places in the home, a safe and cozy spot to spend quiet time.  It would seem that a traditional fireplace would make for a longer more cozy visit due to it’s more homey nature.  I mean who wants to cozy up in a no-so-comfy modern chair (with no side table I might add)?  I’ll take a down filled linen sofa any day, but then there goes the modern furnishings in a traditional house idea.So it boils down to…  I love modern, but I think it’s easier to bet comfortable and relaxed and yes… even more cozy in a traditional home.  I still love me some modern, and traditional doesn’t have to be checks, stripes and floral patterned fabrics but at the end of the day I’d like to put my feet up and doing it in a traditional house sounds easier to me somehow.

One Response to “Modern or Traditional?”

  1. John Says:

    good to know!


Leave a Reply

