I Married Adventure

April 25, 2011

I think most of us could agree that we like the look of a zebra rug, but perhaps not enough to actually own one,  contributing to the horrible poaching of the beautiful animal.  What if you could get the same african vibe from a book for as little as $40.00? That seems to be the going rate for the book I Married Adventure, by Osa Johnson.   Granted it’s much smaller and you can’t really anchor a room with it…  but it is a beautiful book and it adds a wonderful accent stacked on a coffee or side table.  

I will admit I love the look of this book so much I hunted it down and bought it, a first edition copy published in 1940.  I have been told that only the first edition was fabric covered in this exotic zebra print, after that it was reissued with a green leather cover.  I intend on reading it but for now it does it’s job of adding a dash of the exotic to my side table.

By the way… Ms. Johnson’s follow-up book – Four Years In Paradise – is a much harder book to find.  A mint condition copy can be worth as much as $300.00 to $350.00… I’d love love love a copy, but not at that price.  If you see one for less, let me know!  

 

 

3 Responses to “I Married Adventure”

  1. Abid Ilahi Says:

    Hi Bill:

    I love this book cover. The pattern is even better than the rug in the black white Kelly Wearstler room you published a few days ago.
    Asmara has some rugs in a Morrocan weave that are in this vein. Hold on to the book. It is beautiful!


  2. Jambo-Hello Bill,
    Thank you for your interest in Osa Johnson’s classic safari books! FYI – Martin and Osa Johnson wrote 19 books in addition to their many magazine articles and films.
    Conrad Froehlich, Director
    Martin and Osa Johnson Safari Museum


Leave a Reply

