Malt-Choc-Marsh Layer Cake UPDATE!

April 2, 2011

So here is a follow-up to the cake post… I did it, I made the 6 layer malted chocolate toasted marshmallow cake from scratch.  I am buzzing right now from the sugar high.  No, I haven’t tasted the finished cake yet… but I did sample the frosting, marshmallows, ok and a little more frosting, and the extra toasted marshmallows, and the left over frosting.

So maybe not quite as pretty as the original but it’s done and I’m proud.  Here is how it went down…

One of the three cakes stuck to the pan even though I buttered and floured the pan, ugh… imagine trying to cut that layer into two, thank goodness have sevreal large spatulas.  

Burnt the first batch of marshmallows… good thing I bought two bags “just in case”  even thought the recipe only called for 16 of them 2 bags seemed appropriate when at the store.

The frosting were the easiest part.  This chocolate frosting recipe is out of this world good!  I’d make this for any chocolate frosting need and just omit the Ovaltine if it isn’t appropriate, it’s THAT good.In hindsight, I should have been more careful building the layers.  The cutting of the layers went well, but edges were far from straight, go figure.

Ok so here it is built and waiting for the crumb layer.  Yeah, that’s easier said than done… OY! The crumb layer is hard to do, just sayin.

Nearly done, and realizing that I didn’t buy any malted milk balls or jimmies for decoration… Hmmm.  What to do, what to do… never mind, I’m struggling with the frosting so, I’m calling it finished.  You decide which frosting style ( if we can call it stylish) you like best… ish.

One Response to “Malt-Choc-Marsh Layer Cake UPDATE!”

  1. Janice Says:

    awesome job. I like #1.
    did you use the regular cake recipe, or double it, or 1 1/2 it?
    8″ pans?
    I hope you show a picture of a “slice”.
    great post. 🙂


Leave a Reply

