Painted Banisters

January 15, 2011

I guess I am going through a phase but I am digging on painted banisters these days.  This picture caught my eye for the grouping of art originally but I quickly developed a crush on the sexy banister and it’s creamy painted finish.  I love my staircase (all wood) but I have to say after seeing this picture I might go over to the “other side” and paint mine.  For me this is decidedly fresh and old and young at the same time, if you know what I mean.  Of course, the runner finishes the look perfectly.

Speaking of perfect, I have had the pleasure of working with a very talented painter for sometime now and I have to tell you I have never been disappointed by Kathrine Lovell.  First and foremost she is an artist, she also creates custom finishes including ( but not limited to ) speciality wall finishes, murals, trompe l’oeil, mural work and much more.  She has painted banisters for a client we share and her work was impeccable, and while these banisters are really the tip of the iceberg for Kathrine, they are perfect as perfect can be!  The beach house we both had a hand in came together beautifully and her work was and always is a welcome detail.  If you’re lucky enough to live near her ( MA, RI, CT ) do yourself a favor and call her for your decorative painting needs, REALLY!

Can resist showing you this special finish Kathrine created entirely by hand…

2 Responses to “Painted Banisters”


  1. Wow, Bill, thanks for the great recommendation in your wonderful Blog! xxoK


Leave a Reply

