I’m Giving up on shopping Ideas…

December 20, 2010

…if you havent gotten your shopping done by now, you’d better hope you’re lucky or rich… you’re going to need luck to find a thoughtful or you’re going to have to “throw money at the problem”  (give up the budget and buy the last few people on your list something extravagant!).

I’ve been so busy Christmasing up the house that I haven’t blogged in days, sorry. The truth is I also couldn’t tell you all what to buy your friends and family because all my friends would find out what they are getting and everything else on the list was basically my list.  So… lets talk Christmas.  I got two trees this year.  I did what I call a theme tree in the livingroom where we ( my partner and I ) will host Christmas day.  The colors are complementary  to the room, dusty tones of pink, blue, gold and brown.  I added tortoise patterned glass ornaments, crystals from an old chandelier and real candles plus hundreds of little white lights.  The effect is sophisticated and I love the tree, but my heart and the true spirit of Christmas is reflected in the little tree ( 6ft ) in our library.  It covered in more ornaments than I could count that my partner and I have collected for years, family ornaments… hand-made just for us and silly stocking stuffer ornaments that awaken the kid in me.  There are pipe-cleaner candy canes, antique ornaments from a thrift store that I bought when I was 17 and a few precious memories of friends and pets no longer with us.

The Message: Christmas can and is the perfect time to exercise your design muscle, but don’t over-think it.  It doesn’t have to be perfect, it doesn’t have to match… all it has to do is remind you of the love in your heart for friends and family near, far and gone.  enjoy the holiday for what it’s really about, and don’t sweat it if you like colored lights ; )

3 Responses to “I’m Giving up on shopping Ideas…”

  1. carol Says:

    Very wonderful.

  2. carol Says:

    Bill, if you add a RSS feed button (it’s usually an orange square or simply a link) to your site, readers can add you to their RSS readers and not miss a post!


Leave a Reply

