A Beautiful Room

December 11, 2010

I guess the thing I like most about this room is the symmetry.  Pairs always give an order to a space and the balance of the flanking chairs, lamps, and foreground sofas all create a perfect furniture layout.  The details are there but not in your face or overdone.  The striped sofa fabric mitered on the footstools is a nice touch and makes the room a bit more updated and I like the green banded edge of the chair skirts, it’s a pretty detail and echoes the stripe of the sofa.  All my readers know that I can embrace the more is more philosophy but this less is more living room is pretty.

Knit-picking: I think I would have chosen ceramic lamps with shine and more color on either side of the striped sofa and maybe a stronger color on the drapes?

Leave a Reply

