Window Treatments 101 – Box Pleated Valance

November 9, 2010

You may have noticed a good percentage of my work is what I would call “whimsical”.  Mostly second homes by the sea, many of my clients are usually looking for fun, bright fabrics and colors… a break from their regular day-to-day.  I deliver with strong bright fabrics like this one from Thibaut.  I like it because it’s got a vintage vibe without feeling dated or dusty.  This fabric was perfect for a guest room at a recent clients and it looks great as a box-pleated valance.  Because the fabric is already feminine I wanted to get away from anything gathered or frilly so I (we, the client, the workroom and I) made this cleaner more modern box pleat work for the valance and the bed skirts, and a reduced scale box pleat on the shams.  The box pleat valance allows for fullness and some fluidity without feeling too prissy like gathers or a balloon style would.  This style would look good in a plain fabric with a banded edge or trim, or even just “as is”.

Leave a Reply

