Suite

October 28, 2010

Last week I went to a few showrooms with my friend and he introduced me to Suite.  Walking down the street (Park Ave.) you would never know that 17 floors up this light filled studio of modern furniture even exists, but it does… and it was all so beautiful.  While they pretty much stick to one look, minimal modern with a dash of vintage, what they do they do well.  One thing I keep going back to in my head is a rug they had made of looped metal.  Shiny silver loops surprisingly comfortable underfoot and glamy to look at, this is a rug I would LOVE to have.  They make it in a gold tone as well but the silver really shines.  Sorry my iphone picture isn’t better but thats it in the picture above.

Turns out the other item I’d go back for is another rug.  This one was a Tibetian weave silk rug in the most beautiful blue I’ve ever seen, ever.  Really, EVER.  It was dark and inky but not so dark that you couldn’t see the beautiful deep marine blue.  Not too sweet a blue, and not a traditional blue… this blue was like the deep water that surrounds the geek islands and I want to swim in it!  Check out the beautiful furniture in these shots, you call tell this showroom is well edited and the team that hand picks the furniture is on their game.  I’ll leave you with this woven leather and chrome bench as a parting glance, pretty right?  Let me know if you’re in the market for a house full of modern home furnishings and we can go shopping at  Suite together.  Two for you, one for me, two for you, one for me…..

Leave a Reply

