Get Ready For It… Halloween!

September 17, 2010

The decorations came out at the store yesterday, and I have already seen special displays in the local grocery stores with candy stacked to the rafters… you know what that means?  That’s right, you need to start sewing your costume now!  And maybe plan the decorations for a festive front porch? I’m digging the painted pumpkins, stacked up in an urn… I’ve never painted or finished pumpkins but I think I may try it.  The moss between the pumpkins is a nice touch, they must have a stake running through middle of the stack.

I like having an adult ( by that I mean cocktails, dinner, etc.) dinner party on or just before Halloween to get in the mood, and to carve pumpkins.  I really like the creative process and the fun of making a jack-o-lantern or two for the porch or window.  Pumpkin soup with toasted pumpkin seeds, or risotto with pumpkin and sage or Pumpkin cheese cake or all three sound good.  If you have the time and energy, carve out small pumpkins to use as bowls for your soup, and don’t forget to set a festive table.

This is a good start, but I’m feeling like there could have been something organic around the centerpiece?  Cobwebs? small pumpkins and gourds?  …my favorite, bittersweet – small yellow berries on a twisted vine – would finish off the table nicely.  My advice:  Go crazy, this is not a holiday to hold back!  More is MORE on Halloween.

3 Responses to “Get Ready For It… Halloween!”

  1. Mark Lively Says:

    Just had to leave a comment…. I’m so glad you liked my pumpkins on my porch… I’m from colorado, and I love to decorate sooooo much. I actually carved the pumpkins myself with the foam, then I put them together with spray foam, I gluded in moss to cover the seems.

    I was so excited to see this was helpful. Nothing better theto see someone like your work.

    Hug

    • bill barr Says:

      Mark you’re so talented! Thanks for reading and commenting, your pumpkins are terrific and I’m guessing everything you set out to do is wonderful.


  2. […] create height when decorating with pumpkins outdoors.   Source         source         Grouped together, all one color!     Source […]


Leave a Reply

