Frances

September 14, 2010

Missing my little girl today.

Indulge me today… I know we are really just getting back to “normal” around here after two weeks of vacation blogs but a year ago today, I lost my sweet girl Frances.  I know everyone thinks that their dog is the cutest most perfect dog, but Frances really was.  The ultimate cuddle bunny, just the right size, perfect temperament, oh so cute… and she was mine.  My partner and I have lost two dogs in the 16 plus years we have been together and it is really amazing the emotional toll losing a pet has.  there are still days, but we are trying to move on.

So here we are a year later and I’m only just ready to add another dog to the family.  We have debated every possible breed, every means to getting a dog: shelter, rescue, friend, pet store, breeder, etc.  Ultimately I needed to control the type and size of dog, and with the health problems Frances had i needed some health history of the parents, we have decided to get a dog from a home breeder. The decided breed is a Border Terrier, yes we are terrier people.  I don’t know exactly what that means but we have been loyal to terriers rescue and otherwise with every dog in our lives.  The new dog will come home towards the end of October so you know there will be a puppy post around then.

…go walk your dog, give it an extra treat and make a donation to your local shelter.

One Response to “Frances”

  1. Claudia Says:

    I can’t believe it’s been a year. What lovely pictures. We still miss Dash, even though we love Luna. I have been teasing Jeff about getting her a friend now that I’m gone longer during the day, but she’s so jealous of any attention we give the cat I’m not sure it would work. Frances was so lucky to be loved by you. xxx, C


Leave a Reply

