I’m Working On It – Guest Rooms

August 12, 2010

I have spent the last two days at a clients installing not one, not two but three bedrooms, all in preparation for a wedding at the family’s summer-house.  We are talking area rugs, beds, bedding – custom of course – furniture, window treatments, lighting and art. Phew, you’d better bet I’m tired.  These are snapshots I took with my iPhone, just wanted you to see what I’ve been working on.  Thibaut Fabric, Stark rug, Clients antiques, had to believe these rooms were empty two days ago!

Most of the furniture belonged to the client.  My job was to reuse as much as possible, but edit where necessary.  I really should have taken some before pictures.  All three bedrooms face the water but a deep overhang and keep the rooms protected from strong sun, so I made sure to choose bright and fresh feeling fabrics.  Love the pattern in this room from Thibaut.

I put the darker coverlet on this bed to ensure this room didn’t go too “pretty”.  Of course guest rooms should and will reflect the owner of the home, but visitors should feel comfortable in a room that isn’t too masculine or feminine.  I think we found a good balance here with the checked rug, the dark furniture and rich coverlet mixed with that beautiful floral pattern by Thibaut.

2 Responses to “I’m Working On It – Guest Rooms”

  1. Gina Says:

    Hi Bill,

    Just discovered your blog and I love it!

    Gina


Leave a Reply

