New York City

July 22, 2010

I’m not loving the hot humid days of summer in the city and I’m glad to be out of there most weekends, but no matter the weather hot, cold, dry, wet or frozen the architecture continues to delight me.  Every where you look there is one cool building after another.  My partners favorite line regarding New York is “It’s a great City, now if they could just finish it”.  There are scaffoldings every other block and something is always being built, retrofitted or upgraded.  And, living so close to the new High Line park has made the area a complete construction zone, with builders wanting to capitalize on the popularity of the area… what can I say Chelsea rocks.

So the other day I was walking home from visiting a clients son up in Hell’s Kitchen and came across this very cool building.  I get that it is a fairly simple structure but the little details were all so perfect, it was well maintained and it stood out because it was the only 3 story building around it.  I liked that it was a bit “gangs of New York” and clean and modern at the same time.  I wish I could know what if anything is missing from the horizontal I beam above the front door.  Can you see the metal columns at each end od the building? cool huh…Oh and the fact that it was for rent made my mind go crazy with ideas about living there.

Leave a Reply

