IKEA

May 23, 2012

I admit it, I’m a snob.  I prefer high quality, flawlessly designed furniture (and clothes).  I am of the school that “you get what you pay for” and my favorite line is: BUY THE BEST, CRY ONCE.  But, for the record IKEA really impressed me on a recent visit.  It’s down right CHEAP, it’s really well designed and they have their look “down pat”.  I could have spent $1000.00 – and in the world of home furnishings that’s not a lot – and left with a car load, ok maybe two car loads full of groovy stuff.

I would have spent the majority of my money on rugs, lighting and small rigid frame chairs.  I’m leery of IKEA’s upholstery, convinced it will not be comfortable.  And, I don’t like many of their case pieces – I don’t want to have to build it, and I’m sure it will fall apart in a year – But… the before mentioned rugs, lights and occasional chairs (and maybe even some window treatment options) looked like they would hold up, add a modern twist to any space and leave you with enough in your wallet to buy a quality sofa.

One Response to “IKEA”

  1. Mark Says:

    Agreed…you are pretty spot on. We have bought some cases and they take some time to build….and also some shelving for our factory (which has been pretty good and sturdy). Overall the design can be fun but the engineering is always questionable. I have always thought they have used too many parts in a too complicated fashion. (talking about the build, not the appearance)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers