White Kitchens

December 16, 2011

Nobody seems to be growing tired of White Kitchens – I’m talking my blog and in reality – so here are this weeks favorites.  I love a good banquette and I like bar stools in a kitchen, combine the two and you get this great upholstered bar stool for two – or three wee ones – perfect.  The counter height bench is the “thing” in this kitchen, that’s it… that’s all it needs to shake it up.  The styling and classic details of this kitchen all help to make this a Kitch-less Kitchen.  No gimmicks, no trendy silliness that will date the kitchen in years to come.  Tire of the bench? Go back to traditional stools or buy whats hot at the time, Love it.

The farm-house vibe of this kitchen had me at howdy.  The galvanized stools, the art as back-splash, and open shelving are the perfect details to convey country casual in this perfect kitchen.  Other thoughtful design decisions I love here are the paneled refrigerator, wood clad hood and oil rubber bronze bin pulls to name a few.  The beautiful wood floors reinforce the casual influence here and warm up the visual aesthetic.  The dark soapstone or granite? countertops were also the right decision, they relate to the hardware and also feel informal.

A similar vibe as the kitchen above but glammed up with nickel hardware and a wool rug, this kitchen is still casual and easy.  I like the homey-ness the skirted sink and the rug give this space, and how can you not love the glass front fridge?  WANT!  I’m definitely adding this fridge to my must list for my next house.  It’s sweet but I can do without the lamp on the counter, just sayin.

Did I save the best for last?  Maybe… it’s all about the collection of ironstone in this kitchen.  Which proves a point.  Keep the basics simple, choose classic and simple cabinets, counter tops and finishes and then add bells and whistles that can be changed out to suit any style.  The lights and open shelves are what make this kitchen.  Nuf said.

2 Responses to “White Kitchens”

  1. Darlene Says:

    Do you know where the striped counter height bench came from? I LOVE it!

    • bill barr Says:

      Because this is not one of my kitchen designs, I’m only guessing that this bench – and stools like it – were sourced through LEE INDUSTRIES. They have a good website, and it should help you find your local dealer. http://www.leeindustries.com Good Luck, and thank you for reading BILLblog.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers