Green Smoothies & the Can Can Cleanse

August 11, 2011

This one is for your inner beauty – your health – and maybe a just a little for your outer beauty.  So I am becoming sorta addicted to green smoothies is the truth.  Not one for breakfast and a binge eater in the late afternoon these nutrient rich drinkable meals keep me full all day and sticking to my diet is easier and I’m eating way more fruits and vegetables.  The great thing is you can use just about any thing in them bananas, berries nuts, flax-seed, water, juice, yogurt, spinach, kale, dark leaf lettuce, you get my drift.

The cleanse, now that I have not tried…someone please weigh in on that one because I haven’t indulged – or should I say – abstained yet!  But I like the idea of really purifying my digestive system, feeling lean and kick starting a healthy weight loss system.  I’m hoping for some feedback on this one.  Any way here is what I found on the two topics…

Green Monster Smoothie

1 banana, roughly chopped
4 or 5 strawberries
1/2 cup fresh blueberries
1 small peach, peeled and roughly chopped
1 heaping cup (or more) fresh spinach leaves, thoroughly rinsed
splash vanilla soy milk – I use water sometimes
1 tablespoon Greek yogurt
2 teaspoons honey – if you need it
1/2 cup crushed ice – I skip this, don’t like cold in the morning.

Place all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. Serve immediately.
*this recipe makes a very large smoothie – two could easily share.

Recipe source: sing for your supper 

Here are some other great recipes for green monster smoothies:
Annie’s Eats
Oh She Glows
Naturally Ella

OK.  So everyone I know is has or going to do this.  What is with the trend of  the cleanse?  I have seen recipes and heard of different “fasts” that aid in the detoxifying of your digestive system, but now there is a company that makes a liquid cleanse. Called the CAN CAN Cleanse, this program includes healthy fruit, vegetable, and nut drinks to detoxify your system over one to three days. We all overindulged at times; my vices happen to be coffee, sugar, and carbs. I’d have never done a cleanse before I could last a day, but 3?  CAN CAN piqued my interest so I thought I’d look into it.

The program includes eight liquid drinks or soups for each day made from organic fruits and vegetables sourced from local farmers. The menu changes with the seasons, this is the “summer” menu:

8:00am Lemon Lime Juice (lemon, lime, cinnamon, cayenne, filtered water)
9:00am Green Juice (celery, cucumber, green cabbage, broccoli, fennel, romaine, spinach, kale, parsley, mint, ginger, lemon, apple)
10:30am Hibiscus Tea (dried hibiscus flowers, filtered water)
12:30pm Green Pea Basil Soup (green peas, basil, mint, celery, onion, garlic, thyme, sea salt, olive oil, filtered water)
2:30pm Watermelon Juice (watermelon, apple, lime, filtered water)
5:00pm Green Juice (same as above)
7:00pm Vanilla Almond Milk (raw almonds, vanilla bean, dates, filtered water)
8:00pm Lemon Balm Lavender Tea (dried lemon balm leaves, dried lavender flowers, filtered water)

Besides the price ($175 for three days, $65 for one day), my main concern is taste, how would I feel?  I have heard detox symptoms can include headaches, irritability and skin breakouts, and maybe an irritated digestive system?!?  YIKES.  If I do this I would be hoping for: less caffeine, less sugar, carb cravings, more energy, and hopefully lose a little bloat for swimsuit season.

www.cancancleanse.com  check it out. and then report in!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers